ACT NOW: Religious liberty under threat in Alaska

ACT NOW: Religious liberty under threat in Alaska

LGBT bill threatens your rights


TAKE ACTION NOW:
 Tomorrow, February 9, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to consider House Bill 17, which proposes to add “sexual orientation” and “gender identity or expression” as special protected categories under Alaska’s anti-discrimination law.

Here’s what Alaska looks like if HB 17 becomes law: biological men competing on women’s sports teams; Christian-run businesses sued for not participating in same-sex weddings; men using restrooms and locker rooms that are designated for women.

Americans are increasingly fed up with LGBT extremists who use the apparatus of civil rights law as a bludgeon to crush anyone who disagrees with their sexual ideology. In the America they dream of, there will be no freedom to disagree.

Please email or phone members of the House Judiciary Committee and urge them to OPPOSE HB 17 (contact information below):

Key talking points:

  • HB 17 is a discriminatory bill that threatens to punish individuals and businesses simply because they decline to engage in speech, or participate in events, that violate their religious beliefs or personal convictions.
  • This bill is identical to an ordinance in Anchorage that led to the harassment of the Downtown Hope Center for the “crime” of not allowing a biological man to sleep in an abused women’s shelter. This disastrous policy should not be imposed on the entire state.
  • HB 17 threatens religious liberty, privacy rights, freedom of expression, and freedom of association. Similar laws have had disastrous consequences in other states and cities.
  • Instead of ending discrimination, HB 17 will authorize and encourage discrimination to occur against religious institutions and other private citizens, based only on their decision to operate their businesses, schools, organizations and professional careers in a manner that is consistent with their consciences.

Please send your messages and direct your phone calls here:

House Judiciary Committee: House.Judiciary@akleg.gov

Rep Matt Claman (Chairman)  Representative.Matt.Claman@akleg.gov

Phone: 907-465-4919

Rep Liz Snyder  Representative.Liz.Snyder@akleg.gov

Phone: 907-465-3438

Rep Harriet Drummond  Representative.Harriet.Drummond@akleg.gov

Phone: 907-465-3875

Rep Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins  Representative.Jonathan.Kreiss-Tomkins@akleg.gov

Phone: 907-465-3732

Rep David Eastman  Representative.David.Eastman@akleg.gov

Phone: 907-465-2186

Rep Christopher Kurka  Representative.Christopher.Kurka@akleg.gov

Phone: 907-465-4833

Rep Sarah Vance  Representative.Sarah.Vance@akleg.gov

Phone: 907-465-2689

We encourage you to be kind, firm and passionate in your outreach to these elected officials.”And the Lord said to Paul one night in a vision, “Do not be afraid, but go on speaking and do not be silent, for I am with you, and no one will attack you to harm you, for I have many in this city who are my people.” Acts 18:9-10

BigHeadshot_of_Jim.jpg

Jim Minnery Signature

Jim Minnery – President
 

Alaska Family Action

Subscribe via Email and Text

Pin It on Pinterest